Top 12 Travel Moments of 2012

So much has happened this year I thought it was time to recap on what I’ve done and what the best bits have been.  I have lived in 3 countries, saved like mad, bought round the world tickets, flown to Australia, travelled the East Coast, lived in London for the Olympics and so much more I can’t even remember it all, but what has been my favourite? (in no particular order)

1. Celebrating Hogmanay/New Year in Edinburgh for the first time, standing on the bridge at midnight and watching the fireworks from both sides of me while be squished by everyone else doing  the same might not have been ideal but what an atmosphere. I made a promise that by New Year 2013 I would have made progress and be doing something better with my life…well here I am in Australia

olympics london 2012

2.Living in London for the Olympics I have never loved cities much but this year we chose the best time to live in one for the summer of London Olympics. The atmosphere was amazing with the big screens and free public events. I was lucky enough to get tickets to watch the Paralympics which was incredible. London was a hive of activity with plenty of extra festivals going on including Hackney Weekend by Radio 1 which we were lucky enough to go to. Living in London this summer really felt like you were part of something.

cropped-header41.jpg

3. Starting this travel blog- One year ago this blog did not exists maybe of the travel memories and ideas did but not in the form you read today. Since starting this blog it was become more and more successful over the six months I have been running. I can’t wait to share my adventures of 2013 with you and who knows maybe I’ll be able to continue the great success of my blog. Thanks for reading.

flying

4. Flying to Australia after months of saving and planning and staying in and saving harder we finally got on the plane to start what could be a yearlong adventure not only in Oz but New Zealand and South East Asia too. I had to pinch myself several times to make sure I wasn’t dreaming on that flight and then for days after arriving. We waited so long for that flight we saved so hard and the reward really was enjoyed.

week4 (3)

 5. Whitsunday Island Sailing travelling up the East Coast of Australia there is plenty to do but nothing compares to this trip (well minus my freaking out about swimming with the fish). We spent 2 days and 2 nights on a boat in the Whitsunday Islands snorkelling, diving, sunbathing, swimming, and just adoring the stunning vistas we could see. I have never experienced anything as beautiful as this area.

frasers4

6. Driving on Fraser Island since reading about the 4×4 tag along tour I knew it was something I wanted to do. We spent 3 days and 2 nights on the island just driving around with our guide and seeing the sights. We met some of the best travelling friends on this trip, saw dingoes, swam in Lake Mackenzie and got stuck in the sand. There is nothing like driving on sand for the first time on the largest sand island.

week5 (1)

7. Sky Diving it’s been on my on my bucket list for longer than I can remember and the whole way up the east coast I kept putting it off for fear of my money running out. When we arrived in Cairns I finally gave in and booked my dive. It really is the best feeling ever jumping out of the plane and free falling for what feels like forever.

week1 (3)

8. Experiencing Sydney you have seen those iconic landmarks everywhere but it isn’t until you get up close and personal with them you have to take a deep breath and realise what you are looking at. It doesn’t take long to realise that pictures don’t like up to the real thing and nothing can take that feel you get the first time you lay eyes on the Opera House or the Harbour Bridge.

week5 (6)

9. Total Solar Eclipse having planned to stay in Cairns until the eclipse I was hoping to be impress and sure enough I was. Sitting on the esplanade in Cairns staring at the clouds willing them to move in time is all we could do. It might not have been enough to move them during totality but we still caught glimpse of the diamond ring and a lot of the partial eclipse.

The Cabin

10.Visiting the Forest Of Dean for the first time makes my top 12, I don’t know if it was the pure joy of being out of a city or just the charm of the Forest of Dean and its log cabins but it certainly was a weekend we didn’t want to end. Riding bikes around the forest and sitting in a hot tub it really was a relaxing weekend in a beautiful forest.

11. Finally getting a surf lesson another tick on my bucket list after years and years of saying I’m going to have a surfing lesson I finally took the chance in Agnes Water. The conditions were horrible and I wanted to give up in the first 10 minutes but after trying again there was no getting me off that board until everyone else was leaving the beach.

IMG_6942 dit

 12. Seeing the Daintree Rainforest the oldest rainforest in the world and one item very high up on my to do list for the East Coast and it certainly wasn’t disappointing. Cruising on a boat looking for crocodiles, sitting on a beach where you can see the reef, and learning about the aboriginals who used to live in the forest only made me eager to find ou

