Travel Statistics Month 7

12th April to 11th May

Flights Taken: 0

Trains Taken: 0

Buses Taken: 0

Photo’s Taken: 288

Amount Spent Overall: $2085 – this includes $650 on the Kiwi Experience bus we have booked for August.

Amount Spent Per a Day:  $47.83 (not including the Kiwi Experience fee)

DSC03685edit

This month has flown by! During the first week I celebrated my 22nd birthday with friends from work and others that I had met on the MRQ. I certainly never expected to be celebrating my birthday with so many people. However I couldn’t help being a little bit gutted that I wasn’t in Bangkok at the Songkran festival as originally planned – still I have plenty more years to go do that. The rest of the month has been lost in a blur of working, swimming and learning Portuguese. With the exception of Anzac Day last week, where we took a trip to the National Gallery of Victoria, which I will be writing about soon. Federation Square was showing the famous AFL game between Essendon and Collingwood, this drew a huge crowd in the square and the atmosphere was awesome. Still in the last few days I have celebrated my boyfriend’s birthday with another drinking session at the flat and a lovely meal out at Left Bank. Booked up the kiwi experience Zephyr tour so we now fly in to Auckland and start the tour towards Christchurch for 18 days where we will now fly out of. All in all it has been a fast paced month but enjoyable and another step towards New Zealand.

IMG_0627 EDIT2

My Favourite Moment This Month?

There have been some good times this month with my boyfriend’s and my birthday however my favourite part was taking the train out to Brighton beach. We enjoyed some fresh sea air, the last of the summer sun, found the oh-so colourful beach huts and just enjoyed being out of the city. We then ended up walking back to St Kilda from Brighton. Despite being a one and a half hour walk it was a really great way to spend a day off.

The Worst Part?

Apart from working too much and not really enjoying it, I guess the worst part which is completely my own fault is staying in the CBD so much. Other than one trip to the beach as described above we have stayed in the CBD and Southbank area for no real reason other than saving money. However I am now starting to think it is okay to spend $7 on trams or trains if it allows us to see more than the towering buildings of the Melbourne CBD.

IMG_0570 EDIT2

What’s Next?

As I feel like I continuously say in this section next month will be much the same: working, saving money, hanging with friends and enjoying Melbourne life. We will be working on learning Portuguese as the goal is to do a section of the Duolingo app for each month. I also have a list of little things which I would like to do around the Melbourne suburbs with a few little trips further afield which I have July to fit in. Watch this space as next month I will be migrating my blog and becoming thelittlebackpacker.com with a whole new look.

