New Zealand – Plan and Wishlist

With less than a week to go until I LEAVE AUSTRALIA and head to NEW ZEALAND I wanted to share with you my wish list for the next three weeks and what the exact plan it…

Before I go somewhere new I always make a list of the cities, towns, tourist attractions and middle of nowhere places I want to visit. I might have read up about the place before I go or it might be somewhere I have just seen a silly photo of and really want to go take my own photo like it. This is just a personal list and something I like to do.

Here it is for New Zealand:

  1. Go White Water Rafting
  2. Go jet boating
  3. Visit a Maori village

North Island

  1. Auckland
  2. Cathedral Cove
  3. Hot Water Beach
  4. Waitomo Caves
  5. Raglan
  6. Rotorua
  7. Taupo
  8. Hike the Famous Tongariro Crossing
  9. Wellington
  10. Rangitukia/Tatapouri – First sunrise in the world!

South Island

  1. Take a Picture at Milford Sound
  2. Christchurch
  3. Able Tasman National Park
  4. Queenstown – Snowboard/ski
  5. Franz Josef – Glacier Hike
  6. Kaikoura – Swim with dolphins
  7. Lake Mahinapua

The Plan looks a little like this:

nz map

On the 24th July we Land in Auckland and will be jumping on the Zephyr Kiwi Experience bus. Our main stops are:

  1. Auckland
  2. Cathedral Cove
  3. Hot Water Beach
  4. Waitomo
  5. Rotorua
  6. Taupo
  7. Tongariro Crossing
  8. River Valley Adventure Lodge
  9. Wellington
  10. Picton
  11. Abel Tasman National Park
  12. Westport
  13. Lake Mahinapua
  14. Franz Josef
  15. Wanaka
  16. Queenstown
  17. Mildford Sound
  18. Christchurch

I have the option of spending more than one night in each place but considering how the whole trip will take 18 days and I only have 21 I need to use my extra nights with care. The trip automatically includes extra nights in Taupo, Franz Josef and Queenstown and the beauty of the kiwi bus is I can decide on my way round which places I want to stay for longer in. I cannot wait to get back on the road, start making friends and seeing a new place every day.

By the time we get to Christchurch it will be August 13th and the following morning we board a flight to Bangkok. Finally I’ll be going to Asia.

